VHS

12672120_255196131480165_5181777940750042336_o

Some time ago, we had VHS Screaming Mad Gore under review. Now we have the band under interview.

Who are you and what do you do in your band?

My name is Mike and I play guitar and do vocals in VHS.

When/where was your band formed?

I think we have been together for around a year now or possibly just a little bit over a year. The three of us played together in a Gwar cover band for a show and things seem to click really well with us musically. I was toying around with the idea of starting a horror based band and suggested it to the guys. Wrote a few songs started jamming and we’ve been at it every since!

Why did you choose to play Death Metal?

Is VHS a death metal band? I guess we are to an extent. I don’t think it was really a choice to play death metal to be honest. This just happens to be what my fingers come up with once they touch a fretboard. It’s kind of a combination of all of the music I loved during my teenage years, punk, hardcore, thrash, grindcore and death metal. This is just what comes naturally to us, nothing is really out of bounds with our sound but I guess I’d call us death metal.

How do you compose your music? Does only one guy do everything or does everyone contribute?

I’ll come into the jam space with a song usually pretty much finished. That said we also hash things out and change things if necessary. I love getting in a room with these two dudes and just seeing what happens. The songs tend to take different turns than I expect, or Andy will come up with a drum beat that didn’t even cross my mind but makes the song a million times better. We basically try to catch lighting in a bottle with our sound, it’s very organic. Sure I might write the songs but the guys definitely add their stamp as well.

Tell us about your lyrics, writing, inspiration etc.

Well it doesn’t take much to see what our lyrics are about. The horror movie theme will always be there with this band as it just wouldn’t make sense for it to not be there. In the future though I think we may have a few songs that are horror themed but not about any movie in particular, there was a few on the album like this. That said I already have songs written about cannibal flicks, Nightmare Beach, The Beast Within, Evil Dead 2, Frankenhooker, Return of the Living Dead and a bunch more.

Tell us about your new full-length Screaming Mad Gore.

Screaming Mad Gore just came out a few months ago on Splatter Zombie Records and the response has been awesome. We’ve been selling copies all over the world and doing a lot of trading as well. People seem to be really digging it. I would say it’s a bit different for the time we live in, I guess people consider it old school, but I don’t like throwing that phrase around too much. It was awesome to have some people on here that I really respect. Impetigo is a huge influence on me so having Stevo on here as a guest vocalist was awesome. Same goes for Kam Lee. Kevin and Aaron from Cropsy Maniac are also on it as is Nev from Entrenched Ingurgitation, who also happen to do our album cover!

How do you see the state of Death Metal music these days in your country and in general?

Ummm….there’s a lot of things about death metal right now that I don’t like but I don’t like focusing on the negativity. There is a lot of death metal in Canada but there seems to be more of a focus on technical stuff and more modern sounding stuff. I like things raw and dirty so a lot of my go to bands these days are outside of Canada. So honestly I can’t really say much about the death metal scene in Canada, we are doing pretty good but really have no idea how any other bands are doing!

What are your long term plans as a band? What do you want to achieve?

No real long term plans. We basically just go one release at a time. I know that we have talked about not really playing many shows in the future. Nothing super exciting happens show wise in our city and we seem to be a band that has a fan base outside of our city anyway so I’d rather focus on writing and recording new music. We have a few new shirt designs we are working on, and a couple of splits as well. We also just recorded a song for a movie called Frames of Fear and would definitely love to do more of that in the future!

Name an other Death Metal band from your country that everyone should hear.

There are some Canadian bands right now kicking some ass. Corprophemia has a new album out that is really solid. Grotesque Organ Defilement are more grind based but they are kicking all sorts of ass. Outside of Canada there are a lot of great bands. If people think death metal isn’t as strong as it used to be they are crazy. Sure there are trends but the true bands are still there if you look. I’ve been listening to stuff like Unnatural, Interment, Exit Humanity, Cemetery Lust, Collission, Cropsy Maniac, Castle Freak, Offal, Morgue Supplier, Elbow Deep, They Die Screaming and tons more.

Free word.

Thanks a lot of the interview! Cheers again for the excellent review and the support! If anyone wants to get in touch with us:
thebeyond13@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/vhsthunderbay

3540399995_photo

