Shrine Of The Serpent

logo

Shrine of The Serpent is not re-inventing the wheel, but they make a damn good wheel. Deadly doom or Doomy death, how ever you like, your going to die.

Who are you and what do you do in your band?

Im Todd. I do Guitar and vocals. I also did the artwork for the CD and our new logo.

When/where was your band formed?

Shrine of the Serpent was formed in 2014 in the Horse Brass pub here in Portland, Oregon

Why did you choose to play Death Metal?

It just kind of happened. I wanted to combine it with doom and it worked out well

How do you compose your music? Does only one guy do everything or does everyone contribute?

I write most of the riffs but everyone can contribute. I´m very particular about the sound so I will trash 20 riffs before I get to one I like.

Tell us about your lyrics, writing, inspiration etc.

I get my inspiration from horror movies and books. I have a journal I carry around with me so whenever I get a thought for lyrics I write them down. I generally write the full lyrics after the song is written. It just works better for me this way

Tell us about your debut EP – Shrine Of The Serpent.

Shit, well we wrote like 14 songs and trashed and cannibalized them until we got the 3 on there now. Again, its all inspired by movies like the 9th Gate and in the Mouth of Madness. It is self released but Godz of War productions is getting ready to repress it with alternative cover art in a red jewel case. All European sales for that will be handled by them. Its getting too expensive to mail a CD and I refuse to raise the price just to pay for the shipping. I want people to be able to get our stuff without breaking the bank. I´m looking for a Japanese label to handle a repressing as well.

How do you see the state of Death Metal music these days in your country and in general?

There is a new breed of DM bands that are tearing it up. Granted you have the greats like Suffocation and Obituary still showing how to get it done right, but We need new minds attacking the genre and doing good instead of making it look like a gathering of the juggalos. Iv´e been to shows in the last year that literally seemed like a crossover between DM and the ICP bullshit. Disgusting.

What are your long term plans as a band? What do you want to achieve?

Well right now we are finishing up writing for a split with Black Urn that a couple of labels have singed on for to put it out and then we are writing our next record that will come out on Memento Mori in early 2017. We want to get over to Europe and Japan as well and tour in those places.

Name an other Death Metal band from your country that everyone should hear.

Ill give you 3, Shroud of the Heretic, Predatory Light and Sempiternal Dusk.

Free word.

Thanks to everyone who has bought our stuff so far and those that have supported us getting our record out there. You know your doing something right when your high up there on those Russian download sites.

seattle

