Instant

logoblack

Death Metal in Finland is in good hands. We got fierce young bands like Galvanizer, who has already made some name for them selves, and now we got Instant. INSTANT DEATH TO YOU ALL! 

Who are you and what do you do in your band?

I’m Ilmari and I play bass and do vocals in Instant. Juuso plays drums and Eetu does some kind of awesome vocals and plays the guitar. -Ilmari

When/where was your band formed?

Me (Juuso) and Ilmari formed the band in the summer of 2015 in this dirty, moldy training space. We had just left this really shitty punk band, and Ilmari asked me if I wanted to jam with this guitarist, and I said yes. We weren’t playing death metal at this time because of our different music tastes, so we played some form of weird progressive metal. About 2 months later this guitarist left the band and we thought that was the end of the band. Fortunately I knew this guy Niko (Who filmed our show at Sumppu) who I asked to join the band, he said yes. We made one song with him that’s called Severed. Niko left the band after a month because of financial issues. Then we said ”fuck it” we’ll be a 2 member band for a while. Then, we found this guy Eetu who is the current guitarist of Instant. – Juuso

Why did you choose to play Death Metal?

We just really, really love death metal. We started playing death metal when Eetu joined the band. -Juuso

How do you compose your music? Does only one guy do everything or does everyone contribute?

I and Ilmari write the lyrics. Usually Juuso, me, or Ilmari come up with a riff and then we start working on the song. When everything is done musically, we write the lyrics. -Eetu

Tell us about your lyrics, writing, inspiration etc.

I (Ilmari) write usually lyrics to our songs. I start writing lyrics to songs when I have this inspiration burst. It comes randomly, but I can help it by relaxing, taking a shower etc. Usually on this burst I just think what I hate in this world, or just think something that’s really fucking brutal. I like to write lyrics about religion, because there are so many things to criticize about it. If there’s nothing to criticize, I just write lyrics about blood and gore and all that kind of shit, you know, it really depends on the mood. -Ilmari

I was able to find only your split release with Misanthropy, but I have heard a legend there is actually more. Is there? Also tell us a little about them.

Oh, yeah. There is an EP that we did in september of 2015 called Psychotherapy. The EP is really shitty. There’s 2 songs on it: Severed (Which we did with Niko) and Away. The EP has really bad quality and the guitar tracks are full of mistakes. We’re actually pretty ashamed of that EP, we decided to delete it from our bandcamp page because we didn’t want people to hear the EP. But, you can still find it on our youtube page. Although we highly suggest that you don’t check it out. -Juuso

How do you see the state of Death Metal music these days in your country and in general?

The death metal scene in Vaasa is really poor right now. -Eetu

What are your long term plans as a band? What do you want to achieve?

Oh my, this is actually hard. Our long term plans are just to keep publishing music and get gigs whenever we can. Like, it would be a dream if we could make a living out of this. It would be really fucking awesome. But for now, we are just concentrating on making some really dope music. I mean, you don’t want to hear crappy stuff, right? -Ilmari

Name an other Death Metal band from your country that everyone should hear.

Well atleast Galvanizer, Purtenance, Xysma, Demilich, Cut To Fit, Convulse, Rippikoulu, (Early) Amorphis, Rotten Sound, Vomiturition, Cartilage, and all of those old school and not so old school finnish death metal bands! -Juuso

Free word.

Thank you very much for reading this interview, we really appreciate it. Go check out our new live video we shot at Sumppu, you can find that out on our youtube page. We’re going to record our debut in this year, so look forward to that.

12604705_644014592368886_9110100578859915728_o

