Lord Rot

Lord Rot Final Black

Who are you and what do you do in your band?

I am James, sole member of Lord Rot. I play guitar, bass and perform vocals as well as drum programming.

When/where was your band formed? 

Lord Rot started in late 2014 or early 2015 while I was recording a couple of things for my other bands. I recorded 1 song and then put everything aside to focus on other things and came back to finish the EP in late 2015.

Why did you choose to play Death Metal?

Simply because I love the music. It’s both fun to play and to listen to.

How do you compose your music? Does only one guy do everything or does everyone contribute?

Since it’s only me in the band, I write everything. I start with guitars, followed by drum programming and finally vocals.

Tell us about your lyrics, writing, inspiration etc.

The lyrics are inspired by various horror films/stories etc. The music on the other hand is influenced by a lot of different bands ranging from Iron Maiden to Morbid Angel. The main influences of course would be old-school Swedish stuff ie. Unleashed, Dismember, Interment and Merciless to name a few.

Tell us about your latest release – The Realm Of Decay EP.

The EP contains 3 songs and was recorded on-and-off throughout 2015. Check it out if you’re a fan of Old-school death metal.

How do you see the state of Death Metal music these days in your country and in general?

I’m not too sure about the death metal scene in Scotland to be honest. In my city though (Aberdeen), there isn’t a large death metal scene at all. It’s mostly punk bands and doom bands. In general, death metal seems to be going strong still and at the moment it seems that the “thing” is the atmospheric stuff that bands like Portal are doing which is great.

What are your long term plans as a band? What do you want to achieve?

I don’t really plan anything long term. If something comes up or I feel like writing some more music then it happens. At the moment a 2nd EP is in the works and a possible split in the next few months if time will allow me.

Name an other Death Metal band from your country that everyone should hear.

Tower of Flies and Iniquitous Savagery. Both excellent bands!

Free word.

Cheers for the support!

Check out the facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/lordrotband
And download ’The Realm of Decay’ free on bandcamp: http://www.lordrot.bandcamp.com/

BandPhoto

