Pigskinner

kusipää

Who are you and what do you do in your band?

Hello, this is Johnny Shitkicker. I’m the sole butcher in Pigskinner’s slaughterhouse. Vocals, bass, guitars, bacon frying, you name it.

When/where was your band formed? 

Pigskinner was formed in early 2015 in Athens, Greece.

Why did you choose to play Death Metal / Grindcore?

I didn’t actually choose to play to music. It came rather naturally. I was jamming on some ideas I had and thus Pigskinner was born.

Which part of the pig you like the most?

Can’t choose between them. They’re like my babies. Love’em all! Hahahahaha! 

Tell us about your lyrics, writing, inspiration etc.

Writing music, lyrics etc for Pigskinner is  kind of easy. I can get inspiration from a movie, a book, anything. Plus weed & bacon help the process a lot, hehe.

Is there going to be freshly skinned little pigs in the future? And by this I mean new Pigskinner material.

You can find Pigskinner’s debut album out there, which is available in physical & digital form. As we speak, there is already a split CD with the brazilian butchers Regurgimentacao Necrovaginal Sangrenta being prepared for release through Inhuman Homicide Records.  After this, we’ll see.

How do you see the state of Death Metal music these days in your country and in general?

I think the extreme scene is alive and kicking. There are a lot of great underground bands  upping their game, as well as more known bands keeping the bar high. Regarding Greece, things look (or sound) better than ever. InveracityVulnusMortal TormentBirth Through GoreTerrordromeAbyssus. Need I say more?

What are your long term plans as a band? What do you want to achieve? How many pigs you plan to skin?

There’s no specific plan. Blowing some steam off, jamming some good groovy brutality and doing my thing is all I need. If it goes well and people like it, all the better!

Name an other Death Metal band from your country that everyone should hear.

As I mentioned above you can find great brutal bands like Mortal Torment to old school deathsters like Abyssus. Make your choice and enjoy. Oh, I almost forgot. Both have new albums out there. Check them out!

Free word.

Thanks a lot for this interview! Keep listening to good music and don’t forget to eat your tasty bacon!

Johnny Shitkicker

