Urðun

urðunlogo

Who are you and what do you do in your band?

I am Skaðvaldur, the vocalist (I won’t dare saying singer because I can’t properly sing for shit), lyricist and guitarist of the band. I am also the artist behind the artwork and logo of Urðun.

When/where was your band formed? 

The band was formed in the town of Akureyri in the north of Iceland. The band slowly ascended from the frozen burial ground in the late part of 2013 as a trio consisting of Dómsdagur, Putrifier and I. The beast from the east known as Yakuza Dethfukk later joined in 2014, which was the time when we started properly doing something.

Why did you choose to play Death Metal?

I chose to play Death Metal partly due to the fact that there weren’t many active bands of that genre in Iceland. I wanted to see more of that around here and I wanted to channel my love for cheesy 80’s horror and slasher films in the form of music. I got tired of overly serious bands and I wanted to something fun and avert from the uprising Icelandic black metal scene. Which I have nothing against.

IMG_3865(2)

How do you compose your music? Does only one guy do everything or does everyone contribute?

I write and arrange riffs, lyrics and so forth. The drummer plays around with beat proposals of mine and the other guitarist and bass player pretty much just follow. Fucking useless bass players!

Tell us about your lyrics, writing, inspiration etc.

The band’s lyrics consist mostly of gory contemplation, silly ideas based off b-grade horror films including all sorts of goofs and nonsense. I’m quite fond of a type of storytelling within the lyrics, not necessarily a concept at all, but something that tells a funny story with the traditional beginning, middle and end, with perhaps the occasional ”artistic freedom” of allowing myself to ignore certain principals in writing. I also fancy rhyming. Naturally I’m highly influenced by bands such as Autopsy, Derketa, Obituary, ABBA, Repugnant and many more.

You released your first demo past summer. Tell us about it and what can we expect in the future from you?

For future expectations, expectors and the expectatious, there is an EP split release in the making for next year with the US band Taphos Nomos, a fantastic Death/Doom band (Check out their material here: https://taphosnomos.bandcamp.com/releases ). The release shall be named R.I.P. with each side bearing a different name. Urðun’s half will be called Rigorously Intensified Putrefaction, while Taphos Nomos’ side shall be named Rarely Investigated Phenomenon. The split will be co-released on CD,Tape and Vinyl through Signal Rex from Portugal as well as Caligari Records and Ancient Future from the US. Support those labels and go check them out!

IMG_3858(2)

How do you see the state of Death Metal music these days in your country and in general?

In Iceland it’s finally starting to grow again, some newer bands have been formed and older bands are continuing to thrive. I don’t know what to say about the state of Death Metal in general, there’s always something new and fantastic to find.

What are your long term plans as a band? What do you want to achieve?

We don’t really have any specific long term plans, however we achieve to have fun with this while it lasts.

Name an other Death Metal band from your country that everyone should hear.

I proudly name the following few bands: Narthraal, Sororicide, Severed, Cranium, Cult of Lilith and Angist.

Free Word.

Listen to filthy death metal, it should be dirty and raw, like having shit in your ears!

IMG_3857(2)

